Welcome to My New Web Home

Welcome to Strings ‘n Things, Two. The title, obviously, comes from my original blog, Strings ‘n Things. This is Strings ‘n Things, too… or Two. This is my new home on the web. If you arrived here through SnT, you will know that I have nothing against Blogger, but I’m happier with the WordPress interface.

It’s taken me a while to make this decision; it was not a snap decision. In the last few months, I’ve been trying to make some changes to my Blogger account and I’ve been having a terrible time finding what I’ve been looking for. In pretty much all cases, I gave up. And now, I’m here.

As announced on the “other” blog, to celebrate the new blog and the new look, let’s have a contest. Here’s the scoop.

If you’ve been reading the original blog, you’ll know about this little project…

If you’re new to the blog, you may wonder why I’ve been calling it the “Hamburger shawl”; well, simply put, it’s all about the colours… red, yellow, green, and brown… they, of course, correspond to all of the hamburger fixings… ketchup, mustard, relish (or pickles), and the patty. Those of you who read my blog will know that I’m of two minds with this shawl. I love it. But. I doubt I’ll ever wear it now that all I see is a hamburger.

And so, to the contest. For the next month, anyone who leaves a comment on this post will be entered into a draw to receive this very shawl. Call it what you will… Metalouse (which is its official name) or the Hamburger shawl… it’s up for grabs.

At the moment, it’s not quite finished but is nearing completion. It will be done, blocked, and ready for mailing well before the draw date. Today is January 12… Let’s have the draw on Valentine’s Day, February 14. I’ll put a countdown in the sidebar (you can do that with WordPress!) and the winner will be announced the next morning, February 15 (I do have to work, after all, and it IS Valentine’s Day; John and I might actually decide to DO something this year!)

So… leave a comment. Tell me what you think of my new home. Congratulate me. Chide me. Introduce yourself if you’re a first time commenter. Fill my inbox!

Let’s have some fun!

Categories: Contest, Just stuff | Tags: , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Welcome to My New Web Home

  1. nicolaknits

    Well, you probably know that I moved from Blogger to WordPress a long time ago and I haven’t regretted it! I like the countdown widget in the sidebar. Never seen that before. Happy blogging!

    • I hadn’t seen the countdown widget before either (I already have two other WP blogs) but I love it!! It took me a while to finally make the move over to WP; I’ve been contemplating it for months. Did you migrate your blog or did you simply start over? I don’t remember.

      • nicolaknits

        I imported all my blogger posts into the new one.

  2. Sharon in Surrey(Can) thetwistedsock@blogspot.com

    Enjoy your new home! I know what you mean about Blogger, I’ve been thinking some similar thoughts myself.

  3. Welcome to your new blogging home! You are much more adventurous than me. I started with Blogger and will probably stick with it simply because I don’t want to learn something new. I like the look of your new site here though, and it makes me wonder…

    • I found that since Blogger integrated with Google, I can’t find any of the settings that used to be so easy to find… and I’m a little bit of a geek when it comes to computer stuff. I’m finding WP much easier to use. However, for anyone else, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! 🙂

  4. Gail in Surrey

    I LOVE your new blog-home! I am not a blogger, so do not understand the issues. All I see is the finished result, and I like it! Congrats on your new look.

  5. I’m with Kristie, I started with Blogger too. Guess I’m less annoyed with it though than some are because I don’t use the regular post editor but use Windows Live Writer instead. Works much better. However, your new look is very nice! Makes me want a blog makeover now.

    • Oh, I use Windows Live Writer as well… usually. However, there were a few things I wanted to tweak and do you think I could find what used to be so straightforward? Ha! That’s the major reason for the change. Plus, I’m having fun getting it all set up and that’s how it should be, right? Fun!

  6. Becky

    Beautiful shawl. I love hamburgers:)

  7. Wherever you are, I’ll be reading your blog. Doesn’t matter to me if it’s WP or Blogger. I’ve only known Blogger, and don’t have the computer skills to move things around. If Blogger didn’t do most of the work for me, I wouldn’t know where or how to begin. But I love reading your blog posts, and I’m sure you know that already. So congratulations on the move, and I do hope you are happy here.

    As to the shawl, those are all my favorite colors, and since I already know your skill as a knitter, I know the shawl is beautifully done. I am more than happy to get my comment in. And I’ll be adding your new blog to my reader, so I don’t miss anything in the future.

  8. I added your new address to my reader, Ev. I’ve been reading you so long you feel like family.

    I have to agree with you about the warmers. I made a few pairs of mitts for my church fair and there was one pair I wasn’t done with in time. They stay in my “chair basket” and in the evening are used quite a bit when the temperature drops.

    I stopped blogging long ago for a variety of reasons, one being Blogger. One of the updates wouldn’t let me post directly from MS word and with the formatting difficulties Blogger always gave me I just said “to heck with it.” Best wishes in your lovely new “home”.

    • LOL Leslie, I know what you mean about feeling like family! It’s good to see a comment from you again; it’s been a while!

  9. Conga Rats on move to wordpress, makes me wonder about moving after all the trouble I had with blogspot. And I love the hamburger shawl.

  10. Joyce Speidel

    Relative newcomer to your blog. Found you some time in December. Looking forward to seeing more. Would love to wear the shawl.

    • Welcome to my blog, Joyce! I’m so happy you left a comment! Always nice to “meet” a new friend.

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

