Blocked!

The Metalouse shawl has now been blocked and is off the needles! It had it’s photo shoot this morning; I must admit that, after blocking, I’m liking it much more than I did while knitting it. That is not to say I’m entering my name into the mix; I’m not. It will find it’s way, I hope, to someone who will love it and appreciate it more than I would.

Kristie made a suggestion in the comments on my last post – a sweater for John. Yes, it’s time, isn’t it? I’ve repaired his blue sweater and the green one I knit him ages ago desperately needs replacing (the holes at the elbow are getting larger by the day); I’m not even going to think about repairing it.

I asked him this morning what colour he would like his next sweater to be; his immediate response (he was still half asleep, incidentally) was “brown”. He has a green one, he has a blue one but he doesn’t have a brown sweater. So, I brought up the KnitPicks web site, the City Tweed Aran page, to be precise, and showed him one colour. He nixxed it immediately and pointed to another swatch. This one…

City Tweed Aran – Habanero

I will be ordering the yarn later this week, along with a couple of books, and will be measuring John, drawing out design ideas and drafting a pattern for his soon-to-be new sweater. In the meantime, I’ll be weaving in the ends on the Monster pants and working on the 10-stitch blanket while listening to an audiobook (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – I’m working my way through the series).

Ends, ends, ends!

Ends, ends, ends!

For those of you wondering, yesterday was enjoyable; I think we’ll do it again in the not too distant future. I first had him drive me to the fabric store to pick up a couple of zippers and some fusible interfacing (I’ll show you why tomorrow). We had a few groceries to pick up but before we did that, I gave him directions on where to go. He caught on fairly quickly. I think he had a mild panic attack when he saw Mama Panda (an Oriental buffet restaurant; we won’t eat there!) but I had my heart set on fish and chips. I’d tried to get him there before but he wouldn’t believe me that the fish was actually pretty good. Not as good as his but pretty good.

He was impressed. He was impressed enough that he agreed we could eat there again the next time the craving for fish and chips hit us.

The best part of the day, though, was when he told me that this is what he needed – to get out of the house, do something we don’t normally do – together.

Categories: Blogging, Finished, Knitting | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Blocked!

  1. Gail in Surrey

    The shawl looks great ! I am always amazed at the magic of blocking. 🙂 Out-and-about together……..I love those type of errand days. (Not only because I knit while Scott drives the truck. LOL)

  2. Your shawl is beautiful; love those colors. Cute monster pants! Can’t wait to see hubby’s new sweater.

  3. Blocking is probably my favorite part of knitting- when the deformed knitted item is transformed into something beautiful… like your shawl!

    I love City Tweed. So soft and warm and fuzzy. I can’t wait to see what design you come up with!!

    And, awesome monster pants!

  4. Ilene

    OK – don’t keep me in suspense. I’m always looking for good fish and chip places and we get up to Kelowna every month or so over the summer.

    Your shawl is lovely, and your bags are really nice too. You sure keep yourself busy.

    • Ilene (I knew someone named Ilene in Abbotsford.. years ago), I took John to C-Lovers. Unfortunately, it is a franchise but better than all of the other fish & chip places that we’ve tried here in town. They even make their own fries vs. the frozen variety.

      As for keeping busy, yup, I do. Makes the days go by quickly. 🙂

      • Ilene

        Thanks, Ev. We’ll give it a try next time we’re in Kelowna.

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

