Stitched!

Yesterday turned out to be quite a productive day! I made a tote bag, and a clutch purse, painted my nails, and then got bored and went to bed early. Oh, and I went for a short walk, something I do intend to do more of once my poor old knee gets better (smacked it on the corner of my desk at work… twice… same knee… hurt like…. well, you know!)

The tote bag was made over two days, actually. On Saturday, I put together the base of the bag and sewed the outer bag to the base. Yesterday, I made the inner liner and put it all together.

I don’t know if it was me (probably was) or the pattern instructions but it didn’t come together easily. The outer bag did but the inner bag certainly gave me some challenges. Even though it was cut to the same size as the outer bag, it was smaller than the outer bag and I had to fiddle with it to get it to fit. Next time (and there will be a next time), I’ll cut the inner and outer bags at the same time. That should guarantee they’ll fit. I’ll also be putting it together in a slightly different order than the author did in the tutorial. All in all, though, I love this bag and it will be living in my purse (which needs cleaning out…. or replacing).

In case you want to make your own pocket tote, you can find the tutorial over at Sew Mama Sew!

Once that was out of the way, I decided to try my hand at another little sewing project I found on Pinterest. This one is a gathered clutch purse. Again, though I like the finished product, it didn’t come out exactly like the pictures on the blog. Was it me or the pattern? Probably me.  I did catch one mistake I made; the lining pieces were to be 5.5 x 9″. When I started piecing everything together, I realized I’d cut the lining pieces 5 x 9″. When you have two pieces of lining that need to be the same size as the outside, two pieces that are 1/2″ short makes your lining 1″ too small. That’s huge! There was also one part of the tutorial that I didn’t quite understand; that resulted in the zipper looking a little different than in the original post.

clutch

 

clutch2

I really like it, though, and I can see myself making a few more of these as gifts. Again, I would probably change the method of making this just a little next time.

With my ever-growing stash of fun fabrics, I can see myself having a lot of fun with fabric choices. Want to make one for yourself? You can find the tutorial over at Noodle-head.com.

Incidentally, I would be remiss if I didn’t remind you that there are only 3 days left until the contest for the shawl closes. Comment on any post on this blog to be entered for your chance to win the Metalouse shawl.

Categories: Blogging, Contest, Finished, Sewing | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

