One Down, One to Go

I’m pleased to report that one of John’s new slippers is done… completely done and ready for felting.

slipper

Every time I make these, I’m always reminded of the Jolly Green Giant when I get to this point. This slipper is big enough to fit the Jolly Green Giant. If you’re not familiar with this pattern, or with fulling, once done, the slippers will be put into a hot water wash and shrunk on purpose.

They’ll shrink into a thick, felted fabric that’s warm and cozy on the toes.

For those of you who like details, the pattern is FibreTrends Felted Clogs, AC-33, by Bev Galeskas. I’m knitting the slippers on 9.0 mm circular needles using a blend of two yarns. The main yarn is Earth Collection Homestead (a Kertzer yarn), something I still had a couple of skeins of in  my stash. The second yarn is something I was given a number of years ago. It’s like the old White Buffalo Yarn, but thinner. I’ve not made felted slippers with this combination before so it will be educational to get to the felting. And, no, I didn’t do up a sample swatch first… naughty me.

Once they’re completely off the needles (as in second slipper knit), I’ll take pictures before and after the felting (technically, it’s fulling) process. Stay tuned!

Categories: Knitting, Slippers, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “One Down, One to Go

  1. Gail in Surrey

    Lucky John, getting a new pair of my favourite slippers ! I have tried several other patterns for fulled slippers, and IMHO nothing comes close to the dependability of FT’s Fulled Clogs. Bev’s petterns are consistently well written and easy to follow and knit. Look forward to seeing a photo of the finished slippers on the happy feet.

  2. I’ve been really wanting to make some felted, or fulled, slippers. Added the pattern to my ravelry queue. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

