Socks for Himself

There is a part of me that is just itching to start something new. The yarn for John’s new sweater has been ordered but, still, my fingers are itchy for a new challenge NOW! I shall just have to contain myself, I know. By next weekend, for sure, his yarn will be here and I’ll be knee deep in sweater designs and swatches!

In the meantime, I’ve unearthed a small project that should have  been done months ago… literally! Apparently, I started these socks last June! If you’re interested, you can read about them on the old blog.

worksocks

They’ve been hiding in a basket in the spare room, with the heel flap almost done. As you can see, though, they’re nearing completion now and, with John’s work season coming up soon, he’ll have a brand new pair of work socks. He’s been going through his socks so quickly lately that I’ll never keep up. I should probably have at least one pair of socks on the needles for him at all times! This is not to say he wears through them quickly; it’s just that I haven’t made him a lot of socks in the last couple of years. He wears them almost exclusively and the ones he’s going through now were knitted up to five years ago. That’s not bad, really.

This pair, like some of the other work socks I’ve made him, are knitted with Sirdar Country Style DK. The yarn is 45% acrylic, 40% nylon and 15% wool. It’s a pretty hard wearing yarn for work socks and John really likes the feel of these on his feet. I’m knitting the socks on 3.0 mm needles, not really using a pattern. I’ve made these so many times now that all I need to know is the stitch count required and how long to make the heel flap and the foot. In his case, if I’m knitting DK weight socks, I cast on 56 stitches; if I’m knitting fingering weight socks, I cast on 72 stitches. The heel flap for John’s socks is always 3″ and his foot is exactly that… 12″, so I start the toe shaping at 10″. That’s all I need to know.

Now I need to get off the computer and finish these socks. By tomorrow, John may well be wearing these!

Categories: Blogging, Knitting, Socks, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Socks for Himself

  1. yourothermotherhere

    My sister likes to knit and she says socks are very hard to do. You must be an excellent knitter if you can make them AND someone can actually wear them!

    • In reality, socks are no more difficult than any other garment. I always thought socks were the hardest thing ever, too, but once I made one, I realized that they’re actually quite simple. Once you realize how a heel turning is constructed, it’s nothing more than a tube! You should encourage your sister to try knitting a sock sometime… a little one, just so she can say she’s tried it. 🙂

      • yourothermotherhere

        I’ll tell her. She likes to make slippers and she does beautiful baby outfits. But she says socks are beyond here. Now I’m going to tell her, “You know I was reading a blog the other day about homemade socks…”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

