It Begins!

I love getting packages at work. When I order yarn from Knit Picks, I have it come to me at work because there’s always someone there to receive it. And our mail carrier is a knitter! When my order arrived, Sylvia was as interested in seeing what I’d ordered as my co-workers and I were.

Fifteen balls of City Tweed HW (heavy worsted) in the Habanero colourway arrived, along with two books. I’ve already knitted up a swatch; oh, this stuff is nice knitted up! Both John and I have already been feeling up the swatch. Now, the process of deciding what John’s new sweater is going to look like begins. I’ll be doing some reading as to recommended styles for his body shape and he’s been given orders to go through a book of men’s sweaters to see what kind of details he’d like.

tools

Already, he’s decided against a v-neck and I’ve nixxed drop shoulders, modified drop shoulders and raglan sleeve shaping. None of those sleeve treatments would do him any favours. He’s somewhat of a pear shape, with his shoulders narrower than his hips. Personally, I like set-in sleeves on him; they seem to give his shoulders a little more definition.

It could take longer to come up with a design than it will to knit this sweater!

Coincidentally, I’ve also started a spring/summer cardi for myself in a similar colour. This will be the Lowtide cardi; the yarn is Knit Picks Gloss fingering weight in Habanero. I really like this colour and it fits in with most of my wardrobe quite well. This will be perfect over a tank top or short sleeved tshirt… or even as a vest over a long sleeved tshirt.

Lowtide1

I think I’ve got my mojo back!

Categories: Blogging, Knitting | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It Begins!

  1. Awesome! I love your color selection for the yarn. And, Sweater Design in Plain English is one of my favorite books. I refer to it all the time.

    I love getting that Knit Picks box in the mail. 🙂

  2. nicolaknits

    Love that colour. Happy knitting :0)

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

