Knitting That Isn’t

Today’s post is about knitting but it isn’t. Or, I could say that it isn’t about knitting but it is. Oh, let’s just get on with it.

You probably know, because I’m sure I’ve mentioned it a few times, that I’m involved with Postcrossing, a world wide postcard exchange. If you’re not familiar with it, do check it out; it’s a lot of fun! Anyway, this week I received the perfect postcard, from one knitter to another. I just had to share here, because even though I’ve already posted about it on my Postcrossing blog (It Only Takes a Stamp), it’s about knitting.

FI mittensIs this not the perfect card for one knitter to send another? The mittens, according to Pirkko, the sender, are “provincial mittens from Finland”. Pirkko has four grandchildren and both knits and crochets. She also makes bobbin lace and tats, neither of which I know how to do.

Check out the inside out mitten in the second column from the left! Threads have been left hanging; I assume that would provide a little more warmth. Isn’t this the perfect inspirational card for any knitter? I can definitely see myself referring to this postcard for inspiration for a long time to come.

I’ve been trying to decide which pair of mittens I like the most but I just can’t. I really like the one at the top right but I also like the  mate of the inside out mitten; and then there’s the subtle colour work of the one at the bottom left. What about you? Is there one that particularly jumps out at you?

Speaking of knitting, there’s been absolutely none happening around here this past week. It’s been a busy one around here. John’s boss was here for a few nights, then my daughter arrived for two nights. I won’t say much about her visit at this point except to say that it was wonderful to be able to spend some mother/daughter time with her, short as her visit was.

Now that things have settled down again, though, I’m hoping to get those needles clicking furiously!

 

Categories: Just stuff, Knitting, No Knitting | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Knitting That Isn’t

  1. My favorite pair are the blue, gold and off-white on the far right. And I totally agree with you, that is perfect from one knitter to another. It sounds like a fun hobby too.

    I’m so happy for you, that you were able to share some time with your daughter too. Those moments come too few and too far apart as our children get older, and more busy living their own lives, but that is as it should be too. 🙂

    PS: Just have to tell you, I’ve made my first few “Nupps” in a scarf I’m working on now. When I first noticed they were in the pattern, I nearly fainted, but I charged forward, found the video on YouTube for making them with a crochet hook, and suddenly they were de-mystified. 🙂

    • That is a very pretty pair of mittens!

      Nupps aren’t as difficult as the first appear, are they? And, yes, a crochet hook would be a much easier way of making nupps. Looking forward to seeing your scarf, Sandie.

  2. Right hand (?) row, pastel lotus mittens. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

