A Sure Sign of Spring

I don’t often talk about the weather. Around here, you never know what you’re going to get. In the last couple of weeks, we’ve had temperatures hovering around 30ºC and down to almost freezing. May in the Okanagan is a month of uncertainty when it comes to the weather. Even June can be temperamental; June last year was dubbed June-uary because it was so cold.

Nonetheless, you know it’s spring, no matter what the weather does, when the Armstrong asparagus puts in an appearance at our local markets. We eagerly await its arrival.

asparagusIt’s here! That means spring has truly arrived, as far as I’m concerned. I’ve been having fun playing with this lovely vegetable. We’ve already had it in mini quiches, we’ve had it steamed with a lovely oregano lemon aioli (mayonnaise), and roasted with a drizzle of oil, salt and pepper. I even save the ends to make cream of asparagus soup (not the woodiest bits but the part that would normally be wasted).

And, surprise, surprise, I’ve been knitting! When it involves Malabrigo lace weight and beads, you know it’s going to be something squishy, soft, and a little bit glittery.

jewelled xThis is the Jewelled X scarf, a free pattern by knittimo (Sachiko Uemura), available through Ravelry. The colours in the picture do not do it justice at all! The yarn is a variegated green and the beads are green glass beads lined with silver. The scarf is actually a loop scarf with the two ends grafted together. Because it’s all stocking stitch, it will curl a bit but I think it will be okay after blocking. I’m loving the fact that it’s almost mindless knitting. The beaded section required a bit of concentration but the rest is plain old stocking stitch.

Apart from working on this little scarf and a pair of boring black socks for John, there’s really been very little knitting going on but it does feel good to play with yarn again.

 

 

Categories: Blogging, Just stuff, Knitting, The Weather | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “A Sure Sign of Spring

  1. Just gotta love Spring, it brings so many happy things our way. 🙂

    The scarf is really pretty. Knitting is a bit of a problem for me right now too, but I don’t give up, I just have to go slower. 🙂

    • Thanks Sandie! I think part of the problem is that at this time of year, I feel guilty sitting down to knit. There’s just so much that needs doing, you know?

  2. nicolaknits

    I bought some Armstrong asparagus today at the farmer’s market. Haven’t eaten any yet though.

    • Mmmm… Enjoy! We didn’t have it tonight but I’m already looking forward to Sunday’s dinner.

  3. lovely we have asparagus here in Norfolk at the moment. lovew the knitting as well xx

    • Thanks Pippa! I hope you have some of that asparagus before it’s gone for another year. We’re loving it right now.

  4. I have some asparagus from Westwold, purchased at the Kamloops market Saturday. I like your idea of using it in a quiche. I think that will be tonight’s dinner!

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

