I Have an FO!

Finally, I have a finished object! It’s a little thing but it IS a finished object. That counts, right? This is the Jewelled X that I posted about last week. It’s a quick knit, very simple yet very satisfying and I love how it turned out.

jewelled x3Basically, it is nothing but a loop of stocking stitch with a beaded, lacy X that can be worn in different ways, much like the infinity scarves that are everywhere these days.

jewelled x2Here it is looped twice around my everlasting sweet pea trellis (which are growing like crazy!). The weather’s a little warm for a scarf these days but I can see it becoming part of my wardrobe in the fall.

In the meantime, I went on the hunt for another simple, semi-mindless project and found one. I went back to my own bookshelves and found, or shall I say re-found, the book “Knitting New Scarves” by Lynne Barr. I’d started one of the scarves before (New Wave), just to try it, but this time I’ve decided to make it… for real.

new wave 1It’s a fun little scarf, quite narrow, so it will be more of an accent piece than a keep-you-warm scarf. The yarn is Fleece Artist Blue Face Leicester DK and the scarf is knit on 4.5 and 6.0 mm needles. Yes, two different sizes. In actuality, the scarf is a double-knit. The thing that makes it wavy is that one side is knit on the smaller needles while the other is knit on the larger needles and contains two extra rows. After 5 rows, the stitches are combined and the sides switch. Does that make any sense at all?

There’s just enough concentration required to keep the knitting interesting.

 

 

 

Categories: Blogging, Finished, Knitting | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I Have an FO!

  1. great job it looks really good!!

  2. very nice!

  3. I love the X-scarf. Love the color too.
    The new scarf sounds a little confusing. I learned how to do double knitting just a while back, and didn’t enjoy it at all. So I commend you to taking up such a project. I had to “think” about every stitch I did, so it was nowhere near mindless knitting for m. And don’t be fooled by the width of the scarf either. I have made a few “thin” scarves over the last Winter, and found them much, much warmer than I ever expected them to be. I used them as accent pieces, but they really did keep me warm too.

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

