Where Do I Start?

That’s always the thing after an absence, isn’t it? I never know where to start! So, I guess I’ll just jump in.

I have a new laptop, finally. I picked it up on Thursday and by yesterday, I had it all set up to my preferences. Now, I can get back to “normal”. The new laptop, nothing fancy, is a Lenovo B590. The first time I walked into National Computer Resources, a local independent computer shop, I was asked how I use my computer. When I explained that I’m a blogger who likes to surf the web and an amateur photographer who does a bit of photo manipulation and that I’m not a gamer or movie watcher, the two gentlemen working there immediately pointed to this machine. It’s a basic, nothing fancy, get it done kind of system with a decent sized hard drive (same as the previous laptop) and enough RAM for the kinds of things I do.

In addition to the laptop, I also bought an enclosure for the hard drive from the previous laptop. It was suggested that because the hard drive was intact, I could turn it into an external hard drive. I thought that was a great idea and I now have a 285 gb external hard drive with all the data I had stored on it. That makes me very happy! I didn’t lose a single file!

Me is one happy girl!

This has been a lovely week; I’ve had the entire week off and John and I spent a part of it in Edmonton, being spoiled by his boss and her husband. Canada Day was spent exploring parts of Edmonton (it was really hot!); we started out at the armed forces base where Canada Day celebrations were in full swing.

chopper

Canada Day band

From there, we went to the legislative building in the heart of the city. Ian, who grew up in Edmonton, couldn’t remember ever having visited the building before so even he got to play tourist in his own town.

Canada day Pool

legislature1

legislature2

legislature stairs

All in all, it was a lovely break from the routine and I have enjoyed every minute of my time off. (Do I really have to go back to work on Monday?? Sigh!)

And there has been knitting! As soon as I knew we were going to Edmonton, I told John that I wanted to visit River City Yarns. It turns out that the shop isn’t at all far (about 10 blocks) from where we were staying. I wanted to see if they had any of the yarn I’m using for the 10-stitch blanket. They didn’t have the specific yarn I’m using but they did have something similar. I wasn’t too fussy on the colours because it’s just that kind of project and I came home with two balls of yarn that will work.

10stitch yarn

I also picked up a pattern for a lovely, decadent little cowl. Just the pattern. Yesterday, I went to Art of Yarn and picked up the yarn for the cowl. The pattern is Annabella’s Cowl, by Churchmouse Yarns and Teas. It really is a simple little pattern, basically a tube that is worked in stocking stitch and 4×4 ribbing. It’s the yarn that makes is special.

I’m using two strands held together, as per the pattern. The main yarn is Manos del Uruguay’s Manos Silk Blend (30% silk, 70% merino ultrafine), kettle dyed. It’s a gorgeous royal purple and is so soft and yummy! ย The second yarn is Artyarns Silk Mohair, also very soft, very pretty and in shades of purple.

Annabellas cowlThis is going to be one cushy little project. It is a cowl but because it’s a tube, it can be worn in different ways. First, of course, you can wear it as pictured or just down around the neck. It also has enough length that it can be worn as a short scarf, knotted or pinned together with a pretty shawl pin. I think that’s what attracted me to the pattern. It’s versatile and mine is purple. I like purple. No, I love purple… and green… maybe I’ll have to make a green one, too. Hmm…

Enough for now. I could show you garden pictures but we’ll leave that for another day.

 

Categories: Blogging, Just stuff, Knitting | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Where Do I Start?

  1. Hi Ev. Pretty yarn. The blog looks good too. Perhaps you could tell me what the length of that cowl is so it’s long enough to double like that with the option of having it around the head and neck…nice idea.

  2. Nicola, the finished length of the cowl is about 29/30″, not a long scarf but long enough to wrap around your neck once and either tie it or pin it in place.

  3. And a belated Happy Canada Day to you! I should have remembered that, but alas, I did not. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I do love the new yarn you purchased in Edmonton though. The colors are gorgeous! Can’t wait to see what you do with that.

    I think the purple is going to look extremely well on you. Have fun with it, because I know you will make good use of it come Winter. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I forgot. Congratulations on the laptop too. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Now you are “back in business” as usual.

  5. Pingback: Oh My! I’ve Been Knitting! | Strings 'n Things

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

