I Really Need A New Hobby…

Yeah, like I need another hole in my head. However, I have taken up a new hobby. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still knitting; I’m still taking walks with my camera in hand. I’ve added water colour painting to my repertoire and, I have to say, I’m really enjoying myself.

Speaking of knitting, there has been progress on numerous fronts. I’m up to the armholes on John’s sweater and I’ve almost finished a new pair or wristwarmers for myself and even the 10-stitch blanket has seen progress. Now that autumn has arrived in all its glory, more knitting will be happening.

I’ve always wanted to learn how to use water colour paints. I remember when my son was in high school and he would come home with some of his art projects (his teacher insisted that he absolutely HAD TO take art and even won an art scholarship to Emily Carr when he graduated, even though he never went); I was so jealous and wanted to try it, too. However, I never did.

Earlier, this summer I asked one of our customers, who comes in to have art cards made up where I could go for lessons. She referred me to the woman who taught her and I signed up. We’ve completed two weeks of the ten week course so far. Normally, I don’t take classes but, in this case, I knew I needed someone to teach me some of the techniques used in water colour painting. I’m so glad I did!

cosmos(6×4″ postcard – Cosmos)

Please, don’t get me wrong; I don’t intend to brag or boast about my awesome talent; I’m realistic enough to know that I’m no expert. It’s just something I’m excited about and something I’m really enjoying and wanted to share.Fisgard Lighthouse

(8×10″ Fisgard Lighthouse at Fort Rodd Hill in Colwood, B.C.)

 

Categories: Blogging, Just stuff, Painting | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “I Really Need A New Hobby…

  1. Shirley Feenstra

    Nice work Evelyn. You do have talent. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do as well. And I will!

  2. Nice painting again! Just posted a few photos taken on my walks. You have a good eye and would like to see a few of the pictures you take on your walks. Can’t wait to see John’s sweater, really liked the style and color you chose.

    • Thanks Elaine! I almost always take my camera with me but I don’t always take pictures. You do know that I have a photo blog, right? It hasn’t been updated in a while but I do try to post there as much as I can. You can find it at http://clicksnthings.wordpress.com/

  3. Hey you’re good 🙂
    I know what you mean about new hobbies – my mum’s always trying to get to get me into quilting but it seems to be as addictive as knitting so I’m resisting!

    • Thank you! I know what you mean about quilting. I’ve drawn the line at quilting. I will not start! 🙂

  4. Ran across your blog in a round about way thru Steve Good blog about lucet which linked to a you tube video you did. Your blog is very nicely done and interesting. I share your obsession with pens and ink. If you have never heard of it, I think you would really enjoy my new obsession: zentangle. You can google it to see all kinds of images, or look at the main website at zentangle.com. I’m not a salesman of this process, just a lover of it. Best in all your endeavors.

  5. Lighthouses always enchant me – yours is wonderful! So talented…

    • What is it about lighthouses, anyway? I love them! Thank you so much for the lovely compliment!

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

