It’s Right Around the Corner

Christmas is rapidly approaching and I’m nowhere near ready. It isn’t that we do a lot for Christmas – we don’t – but I do like to send out a few cards to some special people in our lives. I usually make my own cards from one of my own photos or a photo I’ve found online (from a site like stock.xchng). They’ve always turned out well and, I think, been well received. This year, however, I’m doing something different.

Having taken up water colour painting, it’s only logical that I paint something to be used for my cards this year. It’s an agonizingly slow process, unfortunately. I mean, it is for me.

In progressIt’s taken a couple of weeks to decide the best way to tackle this little subject. This week, it all came together and I’m finally making some progress. There’s still some work to do on the painting but I should have it finished this weekend.

In addition to the painting coming together, I’ve also been doing some knitting this week. It’s a very simple knit but I anticipate that it will take a while to finish this project.

lessismoreThe pattern is Less Is More by Phazelia and is a free Ravelry download. The scarf in this picture is not mine; it’s a picture from the pattern. Here’s mine… all 2″ of it.

Lessismore_evThe reason it could take a while to finish this scarf is that it is knit with lace weight yarn on 2.5 mm circular needles. That’s some pretty fine knitting. The scarf is a long tube with “tufts of grass”, visible in the  top picture. I’m making the tufts and I’m adding some complementary glass beads. Both the tufts and the beads are placed randomly, wherever I’m inspired to put them. At this point, I’ve made two tufts and place one bead; I have a long way to go!

It’s been pretty cold here this week; right now (at about 12:30 p.m.), the temperature is a balmy -12ºC (11ºF) but the sun is shining and the sky is clear. There’s still a bit of snow on the ground and there’s a possibility of more on the way but at least today is a clear, sunny day. I’m already tired of the dark and dreary days we’ve been having lately. We don’t really want to go out but there are groceries that are needed and I really would like to stop in at Opus, our local art supply store. Once we get back, the painting will be worked on again… and finished!

 

 

Categories: Blogging, Just stuff, Knitting, Painting, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “It’s Right Around the Corner

  1. Happy Christmas to you both. Whoever receives a hand painted card from you will be very blessed.

  2. Gorgeous painting!

  3. I think the scarf is going to be really wonderful. Very soft and light weight, but it will be a long haul unless you work on it quite a lot, and stay with it.

    As for your beautifully painted cards, any person receiving them will be so honored you were willing to spend the time and make the effort to make something so wonderful and lovely, just for them. 🙂

  4. Lovely painted cards! You know you could have just painted one and copied it for the rest, don’t you? But where’s the fun in that?! Also, have you ever seen an actual cardinal? I think they are mythical birds. Like phoenixes.

    And what a pretty colour for your scarf! It’ll be worth the fine yarn and lots of knitting. It’s the process that counts, right?

    • Louisa, that’s precisely what I’m doing… I work in a print shop, after all. There’s no way I’d have time to paint individual cards for everyone on my list. I’ve never seen a cardinal but I assume they are indigenous to somewhere here in Canada.

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

