In Memoriam

51fbf636a689b494276a6b22It saddens me to write this post. This morning, my nephew Geoff lost his battle with cancer. Geoff leaves behind his wife, Leah, and their five children. He is also survived by his parents (his mother is one of my four sisters), two sisters, two nephews, his grandmother (my mother), and a whole lot of family on all sides who will miss his ever cheerful presence.

From the Caring Bridge site set up to keep family and friends informed, his wife, Leah, wrote:

“In mid April of 2013, Geoff began to feel sick. He visited the doctor presuming he had a “normal” cold virus and subsequently took some time off work to rest and restore. Almost 2 weeks elapsed and after multiple doctor visits and amidst sporadic attempts to return to work at full strength it was clear that Geoff was not getting better. 

Some blood results prompted a referral to the local ER, where Geoff was immediately evaluated by a Hemotologist/Oncologist and  diagnosed with Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia (ALL). Geoff has Philadelphia chromosome positive ALL.”
Categories: In Memoriam | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “In Memoriam

  1. nicolaknits

    What a beautiful family. So sad that those children have lost their dad.

  2. Oh how awful for your family. Losing a family member is always hard but when they are so young it makes it even harder. I lost my SIL when she was 40 due to cancer and it was a shock to all of us and a very hard time for a few years. Keeping his memories are the best way to get through it and to make new ones too all together. I do hope his family live with his wonderful memories too. My heart goes out to them.

  3. I’m very sorry to hear that your family, your nephew and his family had to endure this. It’s a great loss.

  4. I am so sorry for your family’s loss, and my deepest sympathies go to his wife and children. My late husband and I also lost a nephew to Leukemia when the lad was just about to become a Father for the first time, and the loss is simply devastating. Why this disease seems to afflict the young, I have no idea, but it sure would be wonderful if someone could find a cure, and end this travesty for all future victims. My most sincere good wishes for his family, are being sent.

  5. I am so sorry for your family’s loss. May God give you all peace and comfort. Prayers being said for you all. Such a beautiful, young family to have to endure such sadness.

  6. So so sorry for your family’s loss, Ev. Nobody gets out of this life alive but it’s so much sadder when they had so much life left to live. My heart goes out to his lovely wife and sweet kids.

  7. I’m so very sorry to read of your family’s loss. It’s never easy no matter how much we feel we’ve prepared. My prayers and good thoughts are with you all.

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

