I Hate When That Happens

First…. hi! I know, it’s been almost forever since I posted. I’m still around, just very busy. Between work, grandchildren, home and summer, there hasn’t been a whole lot of time for me. That seems to be changing a bit now that winter is just around the corner. With the cooler weather and earlier evenings, knitting just seems to be the right thing to do.

I have almost finished a pair of socks for John. They’re looking really good, if I do say so myself. I try to make at least one pair of socks per year for him and this pair has taken a while to make. I’m finally down to the finish line on them.

002

 

 

004

That’s it, that’s all that’s left to knit… about an inch left on the toe.

So, anyway… a few days ago, John asked me if it was possible to knit socks from the toe up. Right out of the blue, he asks this? I want to know why that thought even crossed his mind, why he would even think about it? He said something along the lines of.. “Well, if you knit them from the top down and you run out of yarn, you’re screwed, right?” The man’s a thinker, apparently.

Then he continued, “But if you could knit them from the toe up, you could make the leg part shorter if it looked like you might run out of yarn.”

He’s right, of course. I could knit from the toe up but then I’d have to learn a new pattern. I have this one memorized. And I know that one 100 gram ball of sock yarn is enough to make one pair of socks for him with very little left over.

Usually.

Not this time.

Sigh.

003

That bit of yarn? The one with the end showing? That’s it. That’s the last of the ball. That little bit will not stretch far enough to knit that last one inch of sock with enough left over for the kitchener stitch at the toe.

The yarn, Online Supersocke 100 in the Vintage Color is 100 grams of yarn. The first sock weighs 48 grams. That should leave me with 52 grams of yarn which should have been enough to finish sock #2. I am not impressed.

Maybe John’s right and I should try knitting from the toe up.

Maybe.

 

Categories: Blogging, Knitting | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “I Hate When That Happens

  1. nicolaknits

    Oh no! Hopefully you have a little leftover sock yarn from another project you can use for the toe.

  2. I think I do.. tomorrow I’ll be going through my stash. I called AoY to see if they had any more and.. guess what? They’re all out! Thankfully, John’s not as OCD as I am ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That stinks! But, knitting the toe in a different yarn will add character and interest to your socks. They will most definitely have the mark of handmade which is lovely. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’m so sorry Ev, but no one ever sees the toe of a sock, so if you have something that is close in color, I’m sure John won’t mind at all. But, from one who has ALWAYS knit from the cuff down, I am now knitting from the toe up, using the Fish Kiss Lips Heel pattern from Sock Therapist, on Ravelry. It’s $1 for the pattern, and it’s the very best, easiest to learn, short row heel I’ve ever seen, and it’s snug, no holes, no wraps, and I memorized the entire instructions after just 2 pair of socks, so I know you will too. She even has a video on YouTube for the 2 special stitches that make this heel so unique. I highly recommend it. Besides, it’s fun to learn something new every now and then. It keeps the craft interesting. LOL Take care, and it was very good hearing from you again.

    • I will look into that pattern, Sandie. Thanks! I do have toe up patterns but haven’t much liked the ones I’ve made for myself. They just don’t fit as nicely, I find. I was just so surprised that, out of the blue, John asked about the possibility of knitting toe up socks… and then run out of yarn. LOL

      It feels good to be back and I’ll, hopefully, be posting a little more often.

  5. Lovely socks, shame about the toe!

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

