FLK… Almost One Down

Just a quick, short post today. Yesterday, being November 11, I spent the day indoors, working on the Fish Lips Kiss socks for Ethan (in addition to some laundry, dishes, and general tidying around here while John was at work). Progress was definitely made. All I need now is one of Ethan’s feet so I can see how it fits him.

Ethan_sock

This was taken around lunch time, after I’d started and frogged the toe three or four times I wasn’t happy with how it was coming out. For this one, I used the toe pattern suggested by the Sox Therapist on her Ravelry page. For the cast on, I used Judy’s Magic Cast On, which I like quite well.  As you can see, I’m knitting a very plain, “vanilla” pair this time, stocking stitch for the entire foot and knit/purl ribbing up the leg.

Ethan_sock2

I took this around dinner time, just after I’d finished the heel but not the one inch of stocking stitch above the heel. As of bedtime last night, I’d finished about 1/2″ of the ribbing (it’s difficult to knit ribbing while watching The Voice!). The foot was all done on two circulars but I’ve switched to double pointed needles for the leg. I’m simply more comfortable with dpns than with two circulars.

The heel came together very quickly and looks pretty good, if I do say so myself and I LOVE that there is no gusset, no stitches to pick up, no wraps, none of the usual sock stuff. I will admit, though, that I’m leery about starting the second sock until I can see how this one fits Ethan’s foot. It fits the cardboard form perfectly so I should be okay but I’m sure you’d agree, I don’t want to do all the work just to have to frog two finished socks (or give them away).

When this one is on his foot, I’ll be sure to take a picture. Then I’ll start the second sock.

Categories: Blogging, Knitting, Socks | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “FLK… Almost One Down

  1. Wow, you knit fast!! The sock looks great, but don’t worry, it’s also going to fit Ethan just fine. These were the ONLY toe up socks I have ever made that ended up being a perfect fit! Can’t wait to see just how well they fit him. LOL

  2. Thank you for the encouragement. That’s not fast, Sandie. That was just sitting in my recliner doing a whole lot of nothing but knitting… stocking stitch; and they’re small socks. The cuff (1×1 rib) is taking much longer.

  3. Way to go Grandma, Nice. And a gift from the heart ; )

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

