I Love My Toys

I will admit to being something of a techno-geek. I love my electronic toys. I have a laptop; I have an iPod; and now, I have a tablet (I don’t have a cell phone, though… can’t see the need for one of those). I’ve been eyeing them for some time now, recognizing that my eyesight is… aging… let’s just leave it at that. As much as I love my iPod for things like music or audiobooks, it isn’t the best for things like knitting patterns, ebooks, or recipes.

This being the time of year of sales on all sorts of things, I decided it was time to splurge. John, of course, thought I was being a total idiot, wasting money on something I don’t need. Ah well, I intend on making good use of my new Samsung Galaxy Tab 4, 8.0″, 32 GB tablet.

New Toy

I’ve already added some apps to the tablet and have made sure to add the pattern I’m currently working on. I think I mentioned, didn’t I, that I received a new coat for Christmas? Well, a new coat needs new gloves. In my search for the perfect pair, I came across a Ravelry post that said Julia Mueller (aka Laris) was closing her pattern shop and offering all of her amazing patterns for free. As much as I hate to see that happen, it was too good an opportunity to pass up; I downloaded a bunch of her patterns.

A few years ago, I knitted her Knotty gloves; they’re one of my favourite pairs (I knitted them in an off-white alpaca blend). Julia’s patterns are well-written and gorgeous; she truly is a talented designer.

Of the patterns I downloaded, I decided on Bobbie. I’m using Lana Grossa Meilenweit Stretch sock yarn in a variegated denim blue/green combination.

Bobbie

It’s mostly blue, with a little bit of green thrown in for variation. Seeing as my new coat is navy blue, I think this is just the right yarn. And, as a bonus, on the tablet, it’s easy to read, enlarge, and mark up the pattern as needed.

Yup, I love my toys; I am one happy girl!

Categories: Blogging, Knitting | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I Love My Toys

  1. nicolaknits

    I agree. Wouldn’t be without my ipad mini. Rarely need to use the Mac desktop now. And I only have a ‘dumb phone’ as a cell!

  2. I hate to admit how much I love my toys too. Just a Tracfone since I only use a cell phone when I need to use it one. I don’t have that many people to call and if I do I’ll just use my home phone.

  3. I do like your choice of gloves, and the yarn is gorgeous. I like having matching gloves or mittens, for my coat as well. I use a Kindle Fire HDX, since I read so much, but I’ll have to look into saving patterns for my Kindle as well. That would be a great help, being able to make the text larger and such, for my aging eyes as well. I’m sure you’ll have your gloves finished in no time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

