THOSE Days

Ever have those days where you seriously want to knit but absolutely just can’t? There’s no real reason you can’t but every time you sit in your favourite comfy chair and pick up something you’ve been working on for a while and seriously look at it, the question forms in your mind… why am I doing this? Yeah, THOSE days!

Well, I’m having way too many of those right now.

Square

I’ve been working on Ethan’s slippers; then, while the kids were here last week (for the week), I noticed that he hasn’t been at all bothered by the coolness of the floors, even first thing in the morning. There was only one morning that he asked me to help him put his socks on. Trinity? Well, her feet were chilly but she found a pair of knitted slippers in a basket, put those on and was quite comfortable. Why am I bothering to make felted slippers for them?

barn_medium

Click for the pattern

 

Then, when Ethan came inside after playing in the snow, I realized how painfully pathetic his Dollar Store gloves were for playing in the white stuff, I started a pair of woolen mittens for him. After a day or two, I discovered his ski-type mittens in his back pack. Why didn’t I know they were there? He really doesn’t need another pair of mittens.

14667165297_31e5f2bd67_b

Click fort the pattern

 

I found a really cute pattern for a reading rest for my new tablet (did I tell you I’d bought myself a tablet??), started it, then found a pin on Pinterest for a fantastically simple tablet stand. It involves a metal book end (I just happened to have an extra one) and two binder clips, which I also just happened to have (well, I have one but it still works). Why bother knitting one when this one works just as well, put together in a fraction of the time?

It’s become a little frustrating, truth be told. I want to knit. I really do. Unfortunately, this week I’ve spent more time frogging than knitting.

I think I’ll go cook something instead.

Categories: Blogging, Knitting, No Knitting, Slippers, Socks | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “THOSE Days

  1. I’ve been thinking along those lines myself, and came to the conclusion that maybe I would do more charity knitting from now on. I love making baby clothes, and for many years, when I was working, I was kept very busy making baby clothing, because there was always someone at work, having a baby. But now I’m retired, with no grandchildren of my own, and there never will be, why not make baby clothes for babies that need them? Or hats, scarves, mittens, whatever, for the homeless or for Red Cross to help families in need?? That way I can satisfy my need and love of knitting, while helping someone at the same time. That is the way I am heading now. I think it might be more rewarding too. Have a good day.

  2. That’s a great idea, Sandie. I’ve had a couple of “orders” (from my own children, in the main) so I may have to get started on some fun knitting. Now, if only this head cold would go away!

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

