A Nice Quiet Family Kind of Day

It’s a nice, quiet day around here. Trinity, Ethan, and one of the neighbour’s girls are here, all of them on their individual tablets (mine’s safely out of reach); John’s reading on his Kobo and here I am, blogging. It’s Family Day here in BC, a statutory holiday for almost everyone; because a lot of their clients are in the U.S., Kristen’s new job celebrates American holidays. She’s working today, which is why the kids are here.

Even though we’re all on our individual pieces of the electronic world, I have done a few real world things today. I went shopping before picking the kids up from Kristen’s. Once here, while they were all (actually) playing, I baked a cake for tonight’s dessert. We’ll be having a roasted chicken with potatoes and vegetables, a favourite around here.

Persian love cake

Persian Love Cake (not quite like the picture in the recipe)… that’s rose scented, saffron coloured, whipped cream, by the way. The cake is cardamon and lemon flavoured.

It’s been a lovely long weekend and I’m loathe to see it end, to be honest. I still have a lot of stuff I’d like to do this weekend and I know it won’t happen. I’ve started another couple of knitting projects (big surprise, right?). I need more time to work on them. What are they? Well, I’m glad you asked… not much in the way of pictures, I’m afraid.

I’ve started another pair of knitted clogs for John; I know HE’LL wear them………. out. This time, they’re navy with charcoal gray soles. I think that, this time, I may add some leather to the soles; hopefully, they’ll last a little longer than they usually do.

In addition to his slippers, I’ve also, finally, started a tea cozy. I’ve been meaning to make one for years and now that I have a four-cup Brown Betty, it’s time. For the cozy, I’m using some of yarn I had in my stash… forest green and purple.

Tea Cozy

Now, it’s time to relax for a while before dinner needs preparing. If the weather was nicer (it’s gray and damp here today but at least the snow has pretty much melted away), I’d shoo the kids outside to play and claim my comfy chair.

Categories: Baking, Blogging, Cooking, Slippers, The Weather | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Nice Quiet Family Kind of Day

  1. I guess if you are out gathering up the grandchildren, you are not snowed in yet. That’s good. LOL I like the colors you chose for your tea cozy. Hope you have a good week. 🙂

    • Sandie, we have no snow left in the yard. It’s been warm… in the 50’s and I’ve even noticed that the roses are budding in the front garden. I hope you have a great week, too.

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

