Back To Where I Was Before

Years (and years) ago, I was manager of a craft store. During my time there, I was exposed, naturally, to a lot of different crafts. One that developed into something of a passion was making my own creams, lotions, and bath products. I still love it but, these days, time, space and the lack of a dishwasher have put a crimp in my potion making.

I still have a lot of supplies tucked away in a closet under the stairs and I really hope I have the opportunity, and time (and a dishwasher) one day to get back to it.

This week, at work, two customers made a real impact on me. One, a soap maker, had some brochures printed, advertising her handcrafted soaps. When her brochures were ready, I let her know via email and asked her to bring me a bar of her Vanilla Oatmeal soap… oh my! It is amazing!! We started chatting about making soaps and creams and such and the urge to create was reborn.

Then, another customer, who is a bee keeper and sells her honey, soaps, creams, and such, all made with her own beeswax (not the honey, obviously), came in. Again, we talked briefly about creams, balms, lotions, and such and the urge to create was reinforced.

Last night, I made some cuticle balm (much needed… my hands are sooooo, so dry right now); I love it! I’ve also made some lip scrub… simple, really… just some coconut oil and sugar mixed together. Lightly “scrub” your lips, remove it with a warm damp washcloth and, voilà… soft lips.

Today, the kids were here and I wanted to make something with Trinity. So, we made lip balm. It’s easy, really. Some beeswax, some cocoa butter, some coconut oil, a bit of honey… melt it all together, pour it into containers…. done! Trinity was thrilled to have her very own lip balm and even my daughter was pleased. As soon as I gave her the tube, her comment was, “Mommy made??? Yes!!”.  She’s always been my biggest lip balm fan.

Then I had a brainwave. I knew exactly what to make with Trinity and I knew that Ethan would like it, too. I dug out the recipe, emptied the cupboard under the stairs searching for some supplies, realized I was missing a few things, went shopping with Trinity and, when we got back, went to work.

The results were even better than expected.

What did we make?

001

If you’d like the recipe, let me know and I’ll post it

 

Bath bombs!

Between Trinity and Ethan, we agreed on a scent… Sweet Orange… they smell amazing! Ethan loves the fact that they FIZZZZZZZZ…. he got a real kick out of playing with the leftover bits that wouldn’t fit in the molds. Right now, they’re drying and, once completely dry (about 24 hours), they’ll each get one and I’ll have one.

I’ve missed doing this stuff.

Categories: Blogging, Just stuff, No Knitting | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Back To Where I Was Before

  1. Never ever heard of Bath Bombs before. Glad you had such fun making them though. 🙂

    • You’ve never heard of bath bombs, Sandie?? They’re a concoction of baking soda, citric acid, scent, and oils, compacted into a ball (or other shapes). When you drop them into your bath water, they fizz (the baking soda and citric acid reacting with the water) and release all the salts, oils, and scent into your bath water. There’s a British company, Lush, that makes the most amazing (but expensive) bath bombs; every bath bomb maker tries to emulate their products. They’re just plain old fun in the tub!

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

