One More….

Yeah, yeah, I know. You’re getting bored with all this soapy stuff, right? I apologize but I made another one last night. John was watching a movie that I wasn’t terribly interested in so I made soap. It isn’t ready to cut yet but I did take it out of the mold; now it can cure until tonight or tomorrow, when it should be ready to cut.

First though, Sandie asked whether or not soap can go bad. The short answer is maybe. Here’s a link that can explain it way better than I can. As you see, it depends on several things – the amount of lye (have all the oils been saponified?), the oils, the additives, and even the conditions in which the soap is stored.

A soap like Castile soap (made with 100% olive oil) can last for years and years if stored in a dry place. It becomes harder with age and the harder it gets, the longer it lasts. Soaps that are scented or coloured may lose their scent and/or colour in time but, unless it smells off, the soap is still safe to use.

Hopefully, it isn’t something I’ll have to worry too much about. I have a feeling my soaps will be well used. I’ve already been using some; each morning, I’ve been washing with my Coconut Milk soap. Oh my, do I love that one! It lathers beautifully, a nice creamy lather that washes away and leaves my face feeling clean but not stripped.

002

There’s a sample piece of the Java Jumpstart soap at my kitchen sink and it, too, lathers beautifully with just the right amount of “scrubbiness” from the coffee grounds. The scent lingers on the hands after washing, a nice light, fresh scent.

001

Yesterday, I sampled one of the shaving soap “cakes” and I can report that it, too is great. I’m just waiting for John to try it; I really want a man’s perspective on that one. It’s unscented on purpose because I know that some scents can be drying and/or irritating to sensitive skin and John does have sensitive skin.

Shave and Goat Milk2

Today’s soap is all about the colour and the mint. Rosemary Peppermint Soap through Pinterest that I thought might be a fun one to try. I don’t do a lot with colour because I don’t have a lot of colorant available. This recipe uses spirulina (which I had to buy) and peppermint leaves and is scented with peppermint, rosemary, and basil essential oil. Right now, my whole house smells of mint! (It’s no wonder I had a hard time falling asleep last night!)

RosePepSoap2

As I said earlier, it’s not quite ready for cutting yet and the soaps in the silicone mold will definitely need more time to harden up. I tried to take one out but it’s still very mushy. There’s only one thing that disappointed me a little. The soap did start to gel in the center and discoloured some of the mint leaves. I haven’t decided yet whether I like the small brown streaks or whether I hate them. I’ll decide once I cut the soap. (It does look a little bit cool, don’t you think?)

RosePepSoap1

A thought just occurred to me… how would a contest go over right about now? With fall looming on the horizon, I have a harvest of soaps; what if we have a draw for a soap sampler…. say, six different sample bars? Samples are approximately 1-2 ounces each.

Let’s see…. I’m not going to just give them away. I need something from you, too…. but what? I know! To be entered into the draw, tell me your favourite thing about fall. I’ll hold the draw in about one month, Saturday, October 10.

What’s your favourite thing about fall? Leave your response in the comments (on the blog, not on Facebook) and you’ll be automatically entered (unless you tell me you don’t want to be entered.).

 

Categories: Blogging, Just stuff, Making Soap, No Knitting | Tags: , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “One More….

  1. Fall is my favorite season. The humidity finally drops, mornings are crisp and cool, trees put on their gorgeous colors but most special is our Anniversary is in October!

    Sue O

  2. Heather

    I like putting the garden to bed. I’ve enjoyed it all summer and now it can be cut back, evened out and I can see what new colours come to play – the viburnum berries, the red stems of the dogwood, the bright orange of the mountain ash berries

    • In addition to the cooler mornings and evenings, that’s the thing I love about autumn, too…. the colours! Thanks, Heather!

  3. Gail

    There are so many wonderful things that Autumn brings…….. the cool, crisp mornings to start our day, the bounty of squash and root veggies, fresh picked apples, the yummy aromas of home cooked comfort food, the beautiful dahlias in my garden, the clean fresh smell of the air, and like Sue O…….our wedding anniversary (41 years, next week).

Leave a Reply

Fermented Not Demented

Adventures in fermentation... a whole new world for me

Stuff Dutch People Like

Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

: silviasblog.com :

sketches, paintings, photos, random things that inspire me and other kind of art related stuff

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

soknitsome

so knitsome ... so knit some

