Day Whatever It Is – The New Normal

Yep, it’s come to that. I’ve decided not to post statistics any more. It’s becoming a little too depressing. I’ve also decided not to count the days any more. This is the new normal around here and I’m not sure I like it.

Don’t get me wrong. I understand the reasons behind it and I’m quite happy to go along, to do my part in stopping this virus if I can. But… I don’t want to concentrate on the virus; I don’t want it to be the thing that controls my day to day. I’m not saying I’ll no longer abide with the new rules and regulations. I’m just saying I refuse to concentrate on the developing situation. I refuse to listen to news that only has stories that revolve around Covid-19. I refuse to listen to radio programs that are only about how this virus is affecting our lives.

20200427_083941

Sourdough Rugbrot (Rye Bread), one way of taking my mind off our current situation… baking it, not eating it (it IS good, though)

I need to concentrate on what my new normal is going to look like. I think there was a part of me that didn’t want to accept that this is going to last months, not weeks. Now that I’ve been off work for a full month, I need to decide what I want to do with my time. It’s been fun baking or cooking every day; even doing the dishes every day (we don’t have a dishwasher) has been, dare I say it, enjoyable. I don’t mind the day to day chores that need doing but it doesn’t fill my days. I don’t want to be sitting at my computer all day or sitting in my recliner knitting either; that said, I’ve been finding it hard to get motivated to go for walks even though I know the exercise and fresh air is good for me.

What about you? How do you fill your days? How are you feeling in the middle of this pandemic?

I do know what I’m doing tomorrow, though. I’m baking Peanut Butter Cookies. Just cuz I can. An extra pound or two be damned!

20200427_084555

My spider plant loves its new home in the kitchen. It’s even sending out a new shoot!

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment